Kaminsky commissioned by Five Boroughs Music Festival for Five Borough Songbook, Vol II

Since its earliest days, 5BMF’s artistic programming has maintained a particular focus on the emergence of new music in New York City, regardless of genre. This dedication, coupled with our mission to celebrate the city as a whole, resulted in our creation of the first Five Borough Songbook. In early 2011, we commissioned 20 composers to write one new vocal work each, inspired by places, themes, and poetry from every corner of New York City. Following on the success of the original Songbook, Five Borough Songbook, Volume II will be presented in honor of the 10th Anniversary season in 2016-2017. This time, 20 brand-new composers were commissioned to write works for any combination of SATB voices, piano, and cello. The Songbook, Volume II will travel around New York City throughout the year, premiering in every borough to once again celebrate NYC’s rich musical and literary tapestry. The Volume II composers are: Matthew Aucoin, Lembit Beecher, Conrad Cummings, Jonathan Dawe, Evan Fein, Daniel Felsenfeld, Herschel Garfein, Whitney George, Marie Incontrera, Laura Kaminsky, Libby Larsen, Hannah Lash, Missy Mazzoli, Jessie Montgomery, Robert Paterson, Paola Prestini, Kevin Puts, Kamala Sankaram, Gregory Spears and Bora Yoon. The project debuts at the DiMenna Center.